[]
[]

The Rise & Fall of Great Powers

A Novel
Rachman, Tom (Book - 2014 )
Average Rating: 5 stars out of 5.
The Rise & Fall of Great Powers
Print

Item Details

For fans of Jennifer Egan, Dave Eggers, and Donna Tartt--the brilliant, intricately woven new novel by Tom Rachman, author of The Imperfectionists NAMED ONE OF KIRKUS REVIEWS ' "NEW BOOKS DESTINED TO BECOME CLASSICS" Following one of the most critically acclaimed fiction debuts in years, New York Times bestselling author Tom Rachman returns with a brilliant, intricately woven novel about a young woman who travels the world to make sense of her puzzling past. Tooly Zylberberg, the American owner of an isolated bookshop in the Welsh countryside, conducts a life full of reading, but with few human beings. Books are safer than people, who might ask awkward questions about her life. She prefers never to mention the strange events of her youth, which mystify and worry her still. Taken from home as a girl, Tooly found herself spirited away by a group of seductive outsiders, implicated in capers from Asia to Europe to the United States. But who were her abductors? Why did they take her? What did they really want? There was Humphrey, the curmudgeonly Russian with a passion for reading; there was the charming but tempestuous Sarah, who sowed chaos in her wake; and there was Venn, the charismatic leader whose worldview transformed Tooly forever. Until, quite suddenly, he disappeared. Years later, Tooly believes she will never understand the true story of her own life. Then startling news arrives from a long-lost boyfriend in New York, raising old mysteries and propelling her on a quest around the world in search of answers. Tom Rachman--an author celebrated for humanity, humor, and wonderful characters--has produced a stunning novel that reveals the tale not just of one woman but of the past quarter-century as well, from the end of the Cold War to the dominance of American empire to the digital revolution of today. Leaping between decades, and from Bangkok to Brooklyn, this is a breathtaking novel about long-buried secrets and how we must choose to make our own place in the world. It will confirm Rachman's reputation as one of the most exciting young writers we have. Praise for The Rise & Fall of Great Powers "Ingenious . . . Rachman needs only a few well-drawn characters to fill a large canvas and an impressive swath of history. . . . A set of Venn diagrams of how the book's characters overlap would reveal many secrets about its story. . . . The richness of this book is more apparent once the reading is over. . . . For all its serious points, this book is never too busy for hilarity." --Janet Maslin, The New York Times "I found it impossible not to fall in love with shape-shifting Tooly. As an adult, she sports an ironical sense of humor and an attraction to dusty old books. As a child, her straight-faced mirth and wordplay are break-your-heart irresistible. . . . Now beyond resentment or blame, she just wants a usable past and someone worthy of her tender heart. Rachman is certainly such a person, and in these pages, you may discover that you are, too." --Ron Charles, The Washington Post "Marvelously written . . . highly recommended for its prose and for presenting us with the strangely endearing, surprisingly good-natured, unabashedly weird character named Matilda 'Tooly' Zylberberg." -- St. Louis Post-Dispatch "[An] engaging and inventive coming-of-age novel." -- San Francisco Chronicle "A bookshop-lover's book, and a beautiful prose-lover's book, and read-it-all-in-one-weekend book."-- The New Republic
Authors: Rachman, Tom
Title: The rise & fall of great powers
a novel
Publisher: New York :, The Dial Press,, [2014]
Edition: First edition.
Characteristics: 384 pages ;,25 cm
Content Type: text
Media Type: unmediated
Carrier Type: volume
Local Note: 6 15 16 17 18 53 102 109 118 133 138 143 148 149 150 152 167 172 193 198 203 211 216 222 228 231 243 245 263 264 276
ISBN: 0679643656
9780679643654
Statement of Responsibility: Tom Rachman
Subject Headings: Self-actualization (Psychology) Fiction. Early memories Fiction. Americans Wales Fiction. Women booksellers Fiction.
Topical Term: Self-actualization (Psychology)
Early memories
Americans
Women booksellers
LCCN: 2013035825
MARC Display»

Opinion

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at CLEVNET

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app04 Version tobio (tobio) Last updated 2014/09/22 11:30