[]
[]

Notes From the Internet Apocalypse

Gladstone, Wayne (Book - 2014)
Average Rating: 2.5 stars out of 5.
Notes From the Internet Apocalypse
Print

Item Details

"When the Internet suddenly stops working, society reels from the loss of flowing data, instant messages, and streaming entertainment. Addicts wander the streets, talking to themselves in 140 characters or forcing cats to perform tricks for their amusement, while the truly desperate pin their requests for casual encounters on public bulletin boards. The economy tumbles further and the government passes the draconian NET Recovery Act. For Gladstone, the Net's disappearance comes particularly hard following the loss of his wife, leaving his flask of Jamesons and grandfather's fedora as the only comforts in his Brooklyn apartment. But there are rumors that someone in New York is still online. Someone set apart from this new world where Facebook flirters "poke" each other in real life and members of Anonymous trade memes at secret parties. Where a former librarian can sell information as a human search engine, and the perverted fulfill their secret fetishes at the blossoming Rule 34 club. With the help of his friends, a blogger and a webcam girl both now out of work, Gladstone sets off to find the Internet. But is he the right man to save humanity from this Apocalypse? For fans of David Wong, Chad Kultgen, and Chuck Palahniuk, Wayne Gladstone's Notes from the Internet Apocalypse examines the question "What is life without the Web?""--
Authors: Gladstone, Wayne
Title: Notes from the Internet Apocalypse
Publisher: New York :, Thomas Dunne Books, St. Martin's Press,, 2014.
Edition: First edition.
Characteristics: 216 pages ;,22 cm
Content Type: text
Media Type: unmediated
Carrier Type: volume
Summary: "When the Internet suddenly stops working, society reels from the loss of flowing data, instant messages, and streaming entertainment. Addicts wander the streets, talking to themselves in 140 characters or forcing cats to perform tricks for their amusement, while the truly desperate pin their requests for casual encounters on public bulletin boards. The economy tumbles further and the government passes the draconian NET Recovery Act. For Gladstone, the Net's disappearance comes particularly hard following the loss of his wife, leaving his flask of Jamesons and grandfather's fedora as the only comforts in his Brooklyn apartment. But there are rumors that someone in New York is still online. Someone set apart from this new world where Facebook flirters "poke" each other in real life and members of Anonymous trade memes at secret parties. Where a former librarian can sell information as a human search engine, and the perverted fulfill their secret fetishes at the blossoming Rule 34 club. With the help of his friends, a blogger and a webcam girl both now out of work, Gladstone sets off to find the Internet. But is he the right man to save humanity from this Apocalypse? For fans of David Wong, Chad Kultgen, and Chuck Palahniuk, Wayne Gladstone's Notes from the Internet Apocalypse examines the question "What is life without the Web?""--
Local Note: 6 15 35 118 133 148 151 152 153 172 198 210 211 216 226 231 245 276
ISBN: 1250045029
9781466843349
9781250045027
Statement of Responsibility: Wayne Gladstone
Subject Headings: Satire. Computer system failures Fiction. Internet Fiction.
Topical Term: Satire.
Computer system failures
Internet
LCCN: 2013030996
MARC Display»

Opinion

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

If you are the type of person who enjoyed the Season 12 Episode 6 of
South Park 'Over Logging', where the internet 'vanishes' and Stan's family heads west in a Grapes of Wrath-esque themed spoof, you'll enjoy this book.
The various ways 'addicts' deal with their 'withdrawal' was at times both entertaining and alarming.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at CLEVNET

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app03 Version Arkelstorp Last updated 2014/10/23 09:41