[]
[]

Tampa

Nutting, Alissa (Book - 2013 )
Average Rating: 3 stars out of 5.
Tampa
Print

Item Details

In this novel, "Celeste Price, a smoldering 26-year-old middle-school teacher in Florida, unrepentantly recounts her elaborate and sociopathically determined seduction of a 14-year-old student. Celeste has chosen and lured the charmingly modest Jack Patrick into her web. Jack is enthralled and in awe of his eighth-grade teacher, and, most importantly, willing to accept Celeste's terms for a secret relationship--car rides after dark, rendezvous at Jack's house while his single father works the late shift, and body-slamming erotic encounters in Celeste's empty classroom. In slaking her sexual thirst, Celeste Price is remorseless and deviously free of hesitation, a monstress of pure motivation. She deceives everyone, is close to no one, and cares little for anything but her pleasure. Tampa is a sexually explicit, virtuosically satirical, American Psycho-esque rendering of a monstrously misplaced but undeterrable desire. Laced with black humor and crackling sexualized prose, Alissa Nutting's Tampa is a grand, seriocomic examination of the want behind student / teacher affairs and a scorching literary debut."--Publisher's statement.
Authors: Nutting, Alissa
Title: Tampa
Publisher: New York : Ecco/HarperCollins c2013.
Edition: 1st ed.
Characteristics: 266 p. ;,24 cm.
Summary: In this novel, "Celeste Price, a smoldering 26-year-old middle-school teacher in Florida, unrepentantly recounts her elaborate and sociopathically determined seduction of a 14-year-old student. Celeste has chosen and lured the charmingly modest Jack Patrick into her web. Jack is enthralled and in awe of his eighth-grade teacher, and, most importantly, willing to accept Celeste's terms for a secret relationship--car rides after dark, rendezvous at Jack's house while his single father works the late shift, and body-slamming erotic encounters in Celeste's empty classroom. In slaking her sexual thirst, Celeste Price is remorseless and deviously free of hesitation, a monstress of pure motivation. She deceives everyone, is close to no one, and cares little for anything but her pleasure. Tampa is a sexually explicit, virtuosically satirical, American Psycho-esque rendering of a monstrously misplaced but undeterrable desire. Laced with black humor and crackling sexualized prose, Alissa Nutting's Tampa is a grand, seriocomic examination of the want behind student / teacher affairs and a scorching literary debut."--Publisher's statement.
Local Note: 15 16 17 18 53 57 60 61 67 71 73 76 80 118 127 133 148 152 153 172 173 175 176 203 210 211 216 245 258
ISBN: 0062280546
9780062280541
Statement of Responsibility: Alissa Nutting
Subject Headings: Teachers Sexual behavior Fiction. Teacher-student relationships Fiction. Middle school students Fiction. Women teachers Fiction.
Genre/Form: Erotic fiction.
Topical Term: Teachers
Teacher-student relationships
Middle school students
Women teachers
LCCN: 2014378060
MARC Display»

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Jun 26, 2014
  • RoxyParty rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I like that the author gives no explanation as to why Celeste is a pedophile. I think that's the point, its just the way she is. In a way, I feel sorry for Celeste that her desires are forbidden and illegal. I mean the boys she likes are not 'children' per say... they are old enough to know she's hot and they want to explore their sexuality. This book will make you think, about desires (not only sexual ones) and what you would risk to attain them. All in all, a good quick read!

I did not find anything disturbing or uncomfortable about this book. Yes, it is quite excplicit, but I thought it was an interesting and exciting story. I admired Celeste for pursuing her passions; she was a very strong character.

Nov 30, 2013
  • ocicats rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Hilarious, ribald, raunchy, and a real
hoot! I read it in one evening and
admired the author's boldness. Funny!

Oct 23, 2013
  • Krithy14 rated this: 0.5 stars out of 5.

This was a very disturbing book. It really made me sick. Well written, but so not right.

Sep 19, 2013
  • Lauren31 rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

An uncomfortable read.

Sep 14, 2013
  • acornsandnuts rated this: 2 stars out of 5.

I have to admit that I was terribly disappointed in this book. With its uncomfortable subject matter, its willingness to turn fundamental questions of obsession, consent, and feminism on their heads, and its truly unlikeable and incredibly focused main character, TAMPA could have been a LOLITA for today. Instead, after a strong start, the whole book -- from the language, to the main character of Celeste herself, to the central premise -- turns ridiculous. What starts, as one reviewer below has said, as "witty, brazen, horrifying and compelling" becomes the opposite. The build up to Celeste getting what she has always desired is excellent; but like many things, once she has obtained it, the reader realizes the gift was in the anticipation.

Sep 03, 2013
  • LocketLibrarian rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

definitely adult. definitely disturbing.
Makes Gone Girl look like a feel story.

Aug 26, 2013
  • JCLGreggW rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Not for the faint of heart, pretty much every review you're going to read about TAMPA contains the word "controversial". This explicit. gut-punch of a novel revolves around Celeste Price, a pretty, blonde, young - and sociopathic - teacher who preys on 14-year-old boys to satisfy her carnal desires. Nutting chooses to tell her story from the point of view of Celeste, so even though the novel matter-of-factly describes her actions and the thought process behind them, this clashes with the morals of the reader, who can realize just how self-serving her actions are - and how emotionally damaging those actions are to those around her. Finding inspiration from real-life teacher Debra Lafave, Nutting chooses to hold nothing back and the result is a repellent yet enthralling novel, solidly in the tradition of Bret Easton Ellis' AMERICAN PSYCHO and Jim Thompson's KILLER INSIDE ME.

Age

Add Age Suitability

Jul 11, 2013
  • pscho rated this: 2 stars out of 5.

pscho thinks this title is suitable for 21 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at CLEVNET

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
Version pocillo (pocillo) Last updated 2014/08/29 09:56