[]
[]

The Paradise Guest House

A Novel
Sussman, Ellen (Book - 2013)
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
The Paradise Guest House
 Add a Comment  Add Tags

Print

Item Details

A riveting and poignant novel of one woman's journey to Bali in search of love, renewal, and a place to call home--perfect for readers of Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love and Alex Garland's The Beach. nbsp; It starts as a trip to paradise. Sent on assignment to Bali, Jamie, an American adventure guide, imagines spending weeks exploring the island's lush jungles and pristine white sand beaches. Yet three days after her arrival, she is caught in Bali's infamous nightclub bombings, which irreparably change her life and leave her with many unanswered questions. nbsp; One year later, haunted by memories, Jamie returns to Bali seeking a sense of closure. Most of all, she hopes to find Gabe, the man who saved her from the attacks. She hasn't been able to forget his kindness--or the spark between them as he helped her heal. Checking into a cozy guest house for her stay, Jamie meets the kindly owner, who is coping with a painful past of his own, and a young boy who improbably becomes crucial to her search. Jamie has never shied away from a challenge, but a second chance with Gabe presents her with the biggest dilemma of all: whether she's ready to open her heart. nbsp; Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more. Praise for The Paradise Guest House nbsp; "Two survivors of Bali's terrorist bombing find love and spiritual rebirth on an island whose inhabitants believe in reincarnation in Sussman's touching panorama of paradise. . . . Throughout, Sussman celebrates lovers, quiet healing, and the sweetness of the island and its people."-- Publishers Weekly (starred review) "A story of healing and redemption, of finding love in the most unexpected places, and of the importance of moving forward . . . Sussman has drawn a vivid, well-balanced portrait of a woman and a country working to recover from an unimaginable event and a very personal look at a global tragedy."-- Booklist nbsp; "Echoing Bali's difficult recovery from [the 2002 terrorist bombing], the characters tread the difficult terrain of post-traumatic attachment. . . . A respectful and earnest . . . treatment of devastation's aftermath."-- Kirkus Reviews nbsp; "[A] moving story about making sense of life after a tragedy . . . This touching tale will cause contemplation about what closure truly means."-- RT Book Reviews
Authors: Sussman, Ellen, 1954-
Title: The Paradise Guest House
a novel
Publisher: New York :, Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks,, [2013]
Characteristics: pages cm
Content Type: text
Media Type: unmediated
Carrier Type: volume
Notes: "A Ballantine Books Trade Paperback original."
Local Note: 6 7 9 15 17 18 113 118 148 151 152 176 203 216 226 250 262
ISBN: 9780345522818
Statement of Responsibility: Ellen Sussman
Subject Headings: Bali Island (Indonesia) Fiction. Guesthouses Fiction. Bali Bombings, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia, 2002 Fiction. Victims of terrorism Fiction. Tour guides (Persons) Fiction.
Topical Term: Guesthouses
Bali Bombings, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia, 2002
Victims of terrorism
Tour guides (Persons)
LCCN: 2012046442
MARC Display»

Opinion

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Feb 10, 2014
  • whohan0 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Took this out as my Valentine's Date, great date. Found a new author. I recommend this book when you are looking for a short but intense read. Ellen Sussman quickly defind the charactors and the story hooked you.

Jun 12, 2013
  • Cdnbookworm rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I enjoyed her earlier novel French Lessons, and found some of the same elements in this book.
Jamie is an American working as a guide for an adventure tourism company. She first went to Bali in 2002 to scout out a new tour for the area. She was caught up in the bombing that happened there. As the book begins, it is a year later and Jamie has returned to Bali as a guest of the government to commemorate the bombing and its victims and to assist the country in moving forward. She is being hosted by the family of a local victim. Jamie is having trouble psychologically coming back, but also has a private mission to reconnect with Gabe, the man who assisted her after the bombing.
The second part of the book takes us back to 2002, and has both Jamie and Gabe describing their experiences from the day of the bombing, to a few days later. The two met when trying to rescue others, and Gabe provided Jamie with a refuge as well as assistance in the aftermath.
The third part continues the story of 2003, with Jamie facing up to her fears, learning more about this country and what it has to offer, and letting herself heal.
This has romance, but because of the circumstances offers a more complex story of a difficult time for this area that relies heavily on tourism. I found it a quick engaging read, that I truly enjoyed.

May 15, 2013
  • Raynpetal rated this: 2 stars out of 5.

I enjoyed the premise of the book, but there were way to many f bombs in the book for me. I wished I could have finished .... but I got the idea after half way through. Hopefully Bali is better now and safer.

Apr 05, 2013
  • LaughingOne rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

The nightclub bombings in this novel actually happened. Sussman has written a believable story about people who may very well have been there. At the least she does an excellent job of portraying how people acted and reacted during and after the bombings. I found her writing spare yet filled with intensity and emotions.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at CLEVNET

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app10 Version draggan_fix Last updated 2014/11/20 11:49