[]
[]

The Other Typist

Rindell, Suzanne (Book - 2013 )
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
The Other Typist
Print

Item Details

"Take a dollop of Alfred Hitchcock, a dollop of Patricia Highsmith, throw in some Great Gatsby flourishes, and the result is Rindell's debut, a pitch-black comedy about a police stenographer accused of murder in 1920s Manhattan.... A deliciously addictive, cinematically influenced page-turner, both comic and provocative." #151; Kirkus Reviews , starred review For fans of The Talented Mr. Ripley and The Great Gatsby comes one of the most memorable unreliable narrators in years. nbsp; Rose Baker seals men's fates. With a few strokes of the keys that sit before her, she can send a person away for life in prison. A typist in a New York City Police Department precinct, Rose is like a high priestess. Confessions are her job. It is 1923, and while she may hear every detail about shootings, knifings, and murders, as soon as she leaves the interrogation room she is once again the weaker sex, best suited for filing and making coffee. This is a new era for women, and New York is a confusing place for Rose. Gone are the Victorian standards of what is acceptable. All around her women bob their hair, they smoke, they go to speakeasies. Yet prudish Rose is stuck in the fading light of yesteryear, searching for the nurturing companionship that eluded her childhood. When glamorous Odalie, a new girl, joins the typing pool, despite her best intentions Rose falls under Odalie's spell. As the two women navigate between the sparkling underworld of speakeasies by night and their work at the station by day, Rose is drawn fully into Odalie's high-stakes world. And soon her fascination with Odalie turns into an obsession from which she may never recover.
Authors: Rindell, Suzanne
Title: The other typist
Publisher: New York :, Amy Einhorn Books,, c2013.
Characteristics: 356 pages ,24 cm
Content Type: text
Media Type: unmediated
Carrier Type: volume
Local Note: 15 16 17 18 35 53 57 80 97 112 118 138 143 148 150 152 167 172 173 176 182 193 210 211 216 222 226 228 231 244 245 262
ISBN: 9780399161469
Statement of Responsibility: Suzanne Rindell
Subject Headings: Typists Fiction. Nineteen twenties Fiction. Women New York (State) New York Fiction. Police stations New York (State) New York Fiction. New York (N.Y.) History 1898-1951 Fiction.
Topical Term: Typists
Nineteen twenties
Women
Police stations
LCCN: 2013000995
MARC Display»

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Jul 06, 2014
  • molmil8 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I thought this was a great book. Very well-written. Brings you into the era . I saw some complaints that the ending was a let-down, but I thought it was well-done.

I had just finished watching the Ken Burns series "Prohibition" when I began listening to"The Other Typist" as a talking book. I enjoyed both very much indeed. The "Typist" appears to be historically accurate, and definitely very interesting, in its evocation of Twenties society. The female protagonist is a compelling character, and the twists and the turns in the plot keep one engaged.

Jun 21, 2014
  • 2314joni rated this: 2.5 stars out of 5.

A slow moving novel with not much of a plot. Takes place in the 1920's.

Feb 09, 2014
  • sigridmac rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

This is a great read. I particularly liked the narrator, Rose, a rather bland and timid sort who meets up with Odalie, an exotic risk-taker. The story takes place during prohibition and is reminiscent of the Great Gatsby in parts. Thoroughly enjoyable except that I found the end confusing and subject to multiple interpretations.

Oct 17, 2013
  • maven rated this: 2 stars out of 5.

Too tedious and boring to finish...

Oct 10, 2013
  • jtkretzschmar rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

My goodness that was a good book. Really, I picked this book up at the library about 5 min before it closed just because I like the name. (pathetic right?) I'm so glad I did though, it was an amazing first novel. I don't want to ruin the plot line by giving away any of the story, but read this novel - it's amazing.

Sep 19, 2013
  • mvkramer rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

This book is a well-crafted, entertaining, psychological thriller about friendship and deception in a pair of female friends. My one complaint was that, after a LOT of buildup, the climax/breakdown was handled rather perfunctorily. Still, a real page-turner!

A patron review from the Adult Summer Reading Game: An excellent book! Although it was a bit slow, it definitely kept my interest.

Aug 06, 2013
  • JCLGreggW rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Suzanne Rindell's first novel shows tons of promise. In THE OTHER TYPIST, set in Prohibition New York City where Rose, a conservative young woman who works as a typist for a local police precinct, types out the statements of the criminals who come through the department. She soon falls under the spell of the new typist, Odalie, who is carefree and extravagant and introduces her to the thrilling NYC underworld of speakeasies and gambling dens. Of course, Odalie is not what she seems, and it turns out that Rose is not all what she seems, either. This is a devilishly fun read, filled with pitch perfect descriptions of Jazz Age goings-on. Even though the ending doesn't entirely satisfy, this is still worth reading, and I'll be looking for Rindell's next novel. Oddly enough, I started this novel right after reading Erin Kelly's THE POISON TREE, which is set in London in the 1990s but has a similar story of a straitlaced young woman falling under another woman's spell. If you like THE OTHER TYPIST, check it out.

Jul 26, 2013
  • MLS69 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

This was a great story! I thoroughly enjoyed it and look forward to her next book. I could hardly put it down.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

Sep 19, 2013
  • mvkramer rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Rose is a rare girl - she works as a police typist in 1923 New York. An orphan, Rose longs for companionship and a friend to share her life with. As if on cue, in comes the glamorous, beautiful Odalie Lazare who quickly bewitches not only Rose, but the entire department. Odalie cultivates Rose's devotion, but her sinister secrets put Rose in danger. Is Odalie setting Rose up for a fall?

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at CLEVNET

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.