[]
[]

The Guilty One

Ballantyne, Lisa

(Book - 2013)
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
The Guilty One
 Add a Comment  Add Tags
Print
London solicitor Daniel Hunter finds his life changed when he meets an eleven-year-old boy accused of murdering an eight-year-old boy--a case that forces him to confront his own childhood and unearths memories he'd long buried.
Publisher: New York : William Morrow, 2013.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 0062195514
9780062195517
Characteristics: 453 p. ;,21 cm.

Opinion

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Oct 25, 2013
  • kelliyfults rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

a tale different from same-old, same-old.... my sympathies wavered for the 'adult' Daniel; his childhood was given so much more detail- I didn't really grasp who he had grown up to become... perhaps 75 pages too long, but mostly a very good effort.

Sep 07, 2013
  • emily8 rated this: 1 stars out of 5.

no one to cheer for - fact that there are many unlikable and worse people and types in the world - not recommended

Jul 13, 2013
  • (Staff) Elaine Bird rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Fascinating read ... poses interesting questions of who is guilty when children commit crimes and also relationships of children with their damaged parents. Couldn't put it down.

"Layered and complex, The Guilty One is a tale of two damaged boys: one is 11-year-old Sebastian, who's been charged with murdering a younger friend; the other, Daniel Hunter, survived a difficult childhood in foster care to become the London solicitor now defending Sebastian. The case unfolds alongside Daniel's own story (and that of the gentle older woman who eventually took him in for good). Questions of guilt and innocence pale beside a deeper exploration into the failings of the foster care and legal systems. A "searing debut," says Publishers Weekly, and one for fans of Tana French or Laura Lippman." May 2013 Thrillers and Suspense newsletter http://www.nextreads.com/Display2.aspx?SID=5acc8fc1-4e91-4ebe-906d-f8fc5e82a8e0&N=631593

Thought Provoking. Enjoyed this book a lot.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at CLEVNET

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app08 Version eventuell-fix Last updated 2014/11/26 13:11