[]
[]

The Guilty One

Ballantyne, Lisa (Book - 2012 )
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
The Guilty One
Print

Item Details

An eight-year-old boy is found dead in a playground . . . and his eleven-year-old neighbor is accused of the crime. Leading the defense is London solicitor Daniel Hunter, a champion of lost causes. A damaged boy from a troubled home, Daniel's young client, Sebastian, reminds Daniel of his own turbulent childhood--and of Minnie, the devoted woman whose love saved him. But one terrible act of betrayal irrevocably shattered their bond. As past and present collide, Daniel is faced with disturbing questions. Will his sympathy for Sebastian and his own memories blind him to the truth? What happened in the park--and who, ultimately, is to blame for a little boy's death? Rethinking everything he's ever believed, Daniel begins to understand what it means to be wrong . . . and to be the guilty one.
Authors: Ballantyne, Lisa
Title: The guilty one
Publisher: New York, New York : William Morrow, c2012.
Edition: First U.S. edition.
Characteristics: 453 p., 12 p. ; , 21 cm.
Local Note: 1 6 8 9 15 16 17 18 29 33 53 60 80 109 118 133 143 148 149 151 152 156 172 173 182 193 198 222 226 228 231 245 250
ISBN: 9780062195517
0062195514
Statement of Responsibility: Lisa Ballantyne
Subject Headings: Lawyers Great Britain Fiction. Children Crimes against Fiction. Life change events.
Topical Term: Lawyers
Children
Life change events.
LCCN: 2012013279
MARC Display»

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Oct 25, 2013
  • kelliyfults rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

a tale different from same-old, same-old.... my sympathies wavered for the 'adult' Daniel; his childhood was given so much more detail- I didn't really grasp who he had grown up to become... perhaps 75 pages too long, but mostly a very good effort.

Sep 07, 2013
  • emily8 rated this: 1 stars out of 5.

no one to cheer for - fact that there are many unlikable and worse people and types in the world - not recommended

Jul 13, 2013
  • Birdy007 rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Fascinating read ... poses interesting questions of who is guilty when children commit crimes and also relationships of children with their damaged parents. Couldn't put it down.

"Layered and complex, The Guilty One is a tale of two damaged boys: one is 11-year-old Sebastian, who's been charged with murdering a younger friend; the other, Daniel Hunter, survived a difficult childhood in foster care to become the London solicitor now defending Sebastian. The case unfolds alongside Daniel's own story (and that of the gentle older woman who eventually took him in for good). Questions of guilt and innocence pale beside a deeper exploration into the failings of the foster care and legal systems. A "searing debut," says Publishers Weekly, and one for fans of Tana French or Laura Lippman." May 2013 Thrillers and Suspense newsletter http://www.nextreads.com/Display2.aspx?SID=5acc8fc1-4e91-4ebe-906d-f8fc5e82a8e0&N=631593

Thought Provoking. Enjoyed this book a lot.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at CLEVNET

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
Version red_eye (red_eye) Last updated 2014/08/29 10:58