[]
[]

Insane City

[a Novel]

Barry, Dave

(Book - 2013)
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
Insane City
Print
Astonished by his imminent marriage to a woman he believed out of his league, Seth flies to their destination wedding in Florida only to be swept up in a maelstrom of violence involving rioters, Russian gangsters, angry strippers, and a desperate python.
Publisher: New York : G. P. Putnam's Sons, c2013.
ISBN: 0399158685
9780399158681
Characteristics: 341 p. ;,24 cm.

Opinion

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

This guy won a Pulitzer???? Inane drivel that wouldn't rate as a "B" grade screenplay. No challenger to Carl Hiassen.

Jun 25, 2013
  • kfunk_7 rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

this is a nice, quick, mind-numbing read in the same vein as "the hangover" films reduce the brain to a sludge factory over a 2 hour time frame. the well-played out "bachelor party gone wrong where stereotypical ex-frat boy runs rampant to overcome ridiculous hurdles to marry the snotty rich girl" angle gets pretty old, though, after the first chapter. it was funny, for sure, but absolutely predictable and made me think the author studied the above-mentioned films for story lines and ideas to trump the over-the-top hijinx that occurs in the movies. recommend for a boring airline ride...

Apr 02, 2013
  • AnneDromeda rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

At this point, winter’s hung on long enough that most of us are past yeti jokes and fort building and are well into the kind of resigned stalwart ennui that fuels so much prairie CanLit. What better way to get away from the maddening drear than a comic romp through Miami? Dave Barry’s Insane City is just the thing to chase away extended-winter blahs – a hilarious comedy of errors set in a city with no filter, taken to all the ridiculous extremes the author could think of in the name of laughs and adventure. Seth Weinstein is your typical nice guy who can’t win. He went to college and did passably well, only to wind up living back in his parents’ basement tweeting PR pap for a living. When he meets gorgeous, sophisticated Tina Clark, he can’t believe his luck. He wastes no time proposing to the clever, socially conscious lawyer from a family of famous investors. Before he knows it, he and his lovable-loser friends from college arrive in Miami for the bachelor party before the beachside wedding. Of course, nothing goes as planned. Before the night’s out, Seth’s lost the Groom Posse, an orangutan has Tina’s wedding ring, and a family of Haitian refugees are camping out in his suite at the wedding hotel. Tina, meanwhile, has gone full bridezilla, and refuses to tolerate Seth’s good-natured attempts to solve the problems. I won’t give away too much more other than to tell you the author employs some very well-timed special brownies and there’s a pirate battle. Fans of Carl Hiaasen, Tom Cockey, or Bill Bryson’s more debauched material will find this book has everything they want from a winter escape novel. The characters are stock stereotypes, but that’s actually desirable in a slapstick plot this complicated. No psychology gets in the way of the laughs, and there are plenty of laugh-out-loud moments that will get you dubious looks on public transit or in bed next to your partner. (I snorted! Most unladylike.) It’s The Hangover for people who read, written by a Pulitzer Prize winner. Winter, consider yourself pwned.

I laughed out loud so many times. Dave Barry's characters are so well drawn, the plot is delightfully ridiculous. What fun.

Mar 03, 2013
  • ramslisa17 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Very funny book! Reads like a movie and the ending is fabulous!

Summary

Add a Summary

Apr 02, 2013
  • AnneDromeda rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

At this point, winter’s hung on long enough that most of us are past yeti jokes and fort building and are well into the kind of resigned stalwart ennui that fuels so much prairie CanLit. What better way to get away from the maddening drear than a comic romp through Miami?

Dave Barry’s Insane City is just the thing to chase away extended-winter blahs – a hilarious comedy of errors set in a city with no filter, taken to all the ridiculous extremes the author could think of in the name of laughs and adventure.

Seth Weinstein is your typical nice guy who can’t win. He went to college and did passably well, only to wind up living back in his parents’ basement tweeting PR pap for a living. When he meets gorgeous, sophisticated Tina Clark, he can’t believe his luck. He wastes no time proposing to the clever, socially conscious lawyer from a family of famous investors. Before he knows it, he and his lovable-loser friends from college arrive in Miami for the bachelor party before the beachside wedding.

Of course, nothing goes as planned. Before the night’s out, Seth’s lost the Groom Posse, an orangutan has Tina’s wedding ring, and a family of Haitian refugees are camping out in his suite at the wedding hotel. Tina, meanwhile, has gone full bridezilla, and refuses to tolerate Seth’s good-natured attempts to solve the problems. I won’t give away too much more other than to tell you the author employs some very well-timed special brownies and there’s a pirate battle.

Fans of Carl Hiaasen, Tom Cockey, or Bill Bryson’s more debauched material will find this book has everything they want from a winter escape novel. The characters are stock stereotypes, but that’s actually desirable in a slapstick plot this complicated. No psychology gets in the way of the laughs, and there are plenty of laugh-out-loud moments that will get you dubious looks on public transit or in bed next to your partner. (I snorted! Most unladylike.) It’s The Hangover for people who read, written by a Pulitzer Prize winner. Winter, consider yourself pwned.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Find it at CLEVNET

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app10 Version gurli Last updated 2014/12/09 10:52