[]
[]

Trout Fishing in America

Brautigan, Richard (Book - 2010 )
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
Trout Fishing in America
Print

Item Details

Richard Brautigan was a literary idol of the 1960s and 1970s whose comic genius and iconoclastic vision of American life caught the imagination of young people everywhere. He came of age during the Haight-Ashbury period and has been called "the last of the Beats." His early books became required reading for the hip generation, and on its publication Trout Fishing in America became an international bestseller. An indescribable romp, the novel is best summed up in one word: mayonnaise. This new edition includes an introduction by the poet Billy Collins, who first encountered Brautigan's work as a student in California.
Authors: Brautigan, Richard
Title: Trout fishing in America
Publisher: Boston : Mariner Books, 2010.
Edition: 1st Mariner Books ed.
Characteristics: xvii, 112 p. :,ill. ;,21 cm.
Local Note: 6 15 16
ISBN: 9780547255279
0547255276
Statement of Responsibility: Richard Brautigan
LCCN: 2009043963
MARC Display»

Opinion

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

May 08, 2014
  • theorbys rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Brautigan is at times naive and childlike bordering on childish. But he creates a strong inventive and imaginative word world all his own. These are as much a collection of prose poems and short short stories as anything else which I doubt anyone today would find particularly countercultural but just good writing for those who enjoy nontraditional not entirely linear writing. Brautigan is at least a minor master of American literature and perhaps more.

Dec 09, 2013
  • lukasevansherman rated this: 2.5 stars out of 5.

Reader beware: this is as much about trout fishing as "The River Why" is about fishing. A wacky, somewhat surreal, unclassifiable slim book by underground hero Richard Brautigan (on the jacket he's called a god of the counterculture). Will appeal to fans of Tim Robbins and Ken Kesey. Poet Billy Collins wrote the introduction.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at CLEVNET

  Loading...

Explore Further


Browse the Shelf
Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

No Subject Headings have been added to this title yet


  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app10 Version tobio (tobio) Last updated 2014/09/24 13:12