[]
[]

A Redbird Christmas

A Novel
Flagg, Fannie (Book - 2004)
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
A Redbird Christmas
Print

Item Details

With the same incomparable style and warm, inviting voice that have made her beloved by millions of readers far and wide,New York Timesbestselling author Fannie Flagg has written an enchanting Christmas story of faith and hope for all ages that is sure to become a classic. Deep in the southernmost part of Alabama, along the banks of a lazy winding river, lies the sleepy little community known as Lost River, a place that time itself seems to have forgotten. After a startling diagnosis from his doctor, Oswald T. Campbell leaves behind the cold and damp of the oncoming Chicago winter to spend what he believes will be his last Christmas in the warm and welcoming town of Lost River. There he meets the postman who delivers mail by boat, the store owner who nurses a broken heart, the ladies of the Mystic Order of the Royal Polka Dots Secret Society, who do clandestine good works. And he meets a little redbird named Jack, who is at the center of this tale of a magical Christmas when something so amazing happened that those who witnessed it have never forgotten it. Once you experience the wonder, you too will never forgetA Redbird Christmas.
Authors: Flagg, Fannie
Title: A redbird Christmas
a novel
Publisher: New York : Random House, c2004.
Edition: 1st ed.
Characteristics: 229 p. ;,21 cm.
Local Note: 1 6 7 8 9 15 29 35 53 97 109 112 118 133 138 143 148 151 152 159 160 167 172 176 182 188 193 198 203 205 210 216 222 224 226 228 231 232 234 236 242 243 250 264 268 272 274 276 280
ISBN: 1400063043
Statement of Responsibility: Fannie Flagg
Subject Headings: Alabama Fiction. City and town life Fiction.
Genre/Form: Christmas stories-2004.
Topical Term: City and town life
LCCN: 2004050956
MARC Display»

Opinion

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Oct 03, 2014
  • artemishi rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

A Redbird Christmas is typical Fannie Flagg- a heartwarming, tear-jerking story about small-town America, set in a Norman Rockwell concept of humanity.

That sounds trite, but I actually enjoy her stories. They're easy to read, and always end on a note of hope. In this case, I think they also carry a little extra charm for artistic and painterly types, birders, and fans of the South (especially Alabama).

The setting is quaint and the people made me smile, and Fannie Flagg can definitely turn a phrase. A few had me chuckling, and it was a great novel for Christmastime, given the hope and love in it (without any heavy-handed Christian overtones or saccharine "magic of Christmas" messages).

I recommend this for fans of Garrison Keillor, Prairie Home Companion, Fannie Flagg, old-town Alabama, quick-read heartwarming stories, and nostalgic Americana.

Ick. Fannie phoned this one in. A disappointment.

Dec 08, 2011
  • DeltaQueen50 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

A seasonal feel-good story, A Redbird Christmas by Fannie Flagg was just what the doctor ordered. Oswald T. Campbell, following his doctor’s orders, leaves his lonely existence in Chicago and travels to the warmer climate of Alabama. He is warmly welcomed by the citizens of Lost River, and although Oswald has been told he doesn’t have long to live, his life takes an amazing turn for the better.

Full of interesting and eccentric characters like the postman who delivers the mail by boat, the various members of the Mystic Order of the Royal Polka Dots, a secret society of do-gooders and the friendly store keeper and his tame red cardinal. This is a town with heart, and when they decide to take a abandoned little girl under their wing, they put their heart and soul into making her a happy, healthy child.

I loved this slightly magical story, that for me had just the right touch of sentimentality that I look for at this time of the year. A book to curl up with while enjoying the lights of your Christmas Tree with a cup of cocoa in your hand.

Sep 28, 2010
  • cindymaxwell rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

I love Fannie Flagg and the first 95% of this book was great. Unfortunately, Ms. Flagg must have run out of time or inspiration and the ending was flat, trite and highly disappointing.

Nov 25, 2009
  • waterthrush rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

A wonderful Christmas read!

Nov 04, 2007
  • Cabby rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Excellent

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

Nov 04, 2007
  • Cabby rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Neglected and physically handicapd child adopted by a childless couple in a small town.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at CLEVNET

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app05 Version Arkelstorp Last updated 2014/10/16 16:30