[]
[]

Oryx and Crake

A Novel
Atwood, Margaret (Book - 2003 )
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
Oryx and Crake
Print

Item Details

A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin , winner of the Booker Prize Margaret Atwood's new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake , nothing will ever look the same again. The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief. With breathtaking command of her shocking material, and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects us into an outlandish yet wholly believable realm populated by characters who will continue to inhabit our dreams long after the last chapter. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. From the Hardcover edition.
Authors: Atwood, Margaret, 1939-
Title: Oryx and Crake
a novel
Publisher: New York : Nan A. Talese, 2003.
Edition: 1st ed.
Characteristics: 376 p. ;,25 cm.
Local Note: 6 9 15 16 17 29 35 53 97 109 129 133 138 143 149 152 159 172 173 182 188 193 203 205 210 216 222 224 228 231 236 242 243 250 264 272 274
ISBN: 0385503857
Statement of Responsibility: Margaret Atwood
Subject Headings: Male friendship Fiction. New York (State) Fiction. Genetic engineering Fiction. Triangles (Interpersonal relations) Fiction.
Genre/Form: Dystopias-2003.
Love stories-2003.
Science fiction-2003.
Topical Term: Male friendship
Genetic engineering
Triangles (Interpersonal relations)
LCCN: 2002073290
MARC Display»

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Jul 22, 2014
  • dtaflin rated this: 2 stars out of 5.

I won't be reading the next two books in the trilogy. The writing was good, the concepts interesting, but the oppressively cynical attitude about human nature was depressing. I don't personally know anyone who is as jaded and uncaring as the most sympathetic person in this book (Oryx). Even the high-school kids act like they're a thousand years old. I don't need any more of that.

Jun 21, 2014
  • MissEavis rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

wow! this book was incredible. Sort of George Orwell and Stephen king come together but possible better then both...and this author is canadian... it's the first of hers I've read and I really look forward to reading the other books in this trilogy as well as many other by Margaret Atwood :-)

Jun 01, 2014
  • Dixiedog2 rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

To be fair-minded, I do have problems getting interested in an author whose books I have not read before; this book was no exception. Oryx and Crake - Oryx and Crake Trilogy Book 1 by award winning Canadian author Margaret Atwood was a little slow at first but as I proceeded to read this book my interest increased and I did rate it as a good read. I do suggest that due to some of the content, it is recommended for adults only. Doctor-at-Bass! Taylor A.

Apr 01, 2014
  • StarGladiator rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Another great book by Ms. Atwood, who unfortunately most likely correctly extrapolates how events are going (the easily swayed American citizens applauds Michael Lewis' latest book on high frequency trading and how it's used to scam the market, while Lewis goes on NPR and espouses how great the banksters are for their financial innovation, and should never go to jail? ? ? ? ? ?!!!!!!!!!!!!).

So sad, so very sad . . .

Mar 30, 2014
  • Sahallee rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Remarkable.....This addition to the trilogy, delivers perceptive characterizations and philosophically interconnected ideas at a dynamic pace. The best !

Oct 23, 2013
  • msmigels rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

The broad canvas of this dystopian fantasy allows Atwood to show off her incredible talent for satire and wordplay, and her considerable knowledge of the natural world. She paints a joyless vision of a future where genetic-engineering is a lucrative and pervasive facet of human existence and individuals are depersonified.

Jul 12, 2013
  • lsjschwab rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Definitely some of Atwood's more accessible writing (to borrow a phrase)... A witty, scary, provacative, cautionary tale of "scientific progress" gone awry. Some disturbing content. Part 1 of a trilogy. Final installment not yet released.

Jul 05, 2013
  • Anus rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

Fantastic story, albeit marred by the halfwit who had to underline passages throughout the book. Don't ever do this in library books.

Jan 08, 2013
  • 22950010483022 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

A terrific read.

Jun 24, 2012
  • Elbereth rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Well written post apocalyptic novel that follows a path that is plausible enough to make one question present society. The characters are complex and developed, and the setting is intense.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

Jun 01, 2014
  • Dixiedog2 rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Dixiedog2 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Jul 26, 2011
  • kochw rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

kochw thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

Jan 05, 2013
  • ChocolateChips rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Sexual Content: Some weird porn and snuff is described semi-explicitly.

Jan 05, 2013
  • ChocolateChips rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Coarse Language: Definitely some shits, hells, damns.

Aug 29, 2008
  • Michelle rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Sexual Content: This title contains Sexual Content.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at CLEVNET

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.