[]
[]
Due to scheduled maintenance on Saturday, April 19th from 7:30 pm to midnight, you may experience problems using some of the features on our site. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Oryx and Crake

A Novel
Atwood, Margaret (Book - 2003 )
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
Oryx and Crake


Item Details

A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin , winner of the Booker Prize Margaret Atwood's new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake , nothing will ever look the same again. The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief. With breathtaking command of her shocking material, and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects us into an outlandish yet wholly believable realm populated by characters who will continue to inhabit our dreams long after the last chapter. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. From the Hardcover edition.
Authors: Atwood, Margaret, 1939-
Title: Oryx and Crake
a novel
Publisher: New York :, Nan A. Talese,, 2003.
Edition: 1st ed.
Characteristics: 376 p. ;,25 cm.
Local Note: 6 9 15 16 17 29 35 53 60 97 109 129 133 138 143 149 152 159 172 173 182 188 193 203 205 210 211 216 222 224 228 231 236 242 243 250 264 272 274
ISBN: 0385503857
More » MARC Display»

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Report This Apr 01, 2014
  • StarGladiator rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Another great book by Ms. Atwood, who unfortunately most likely correctly extrapolates how events are going (the easily swayed American citizens applauds Michael Lewis' latest book on high frequency trading and how it's used to scam the market, while Lewis goes on NPR and espouses how great the banksters are for their financial innovation, and should never go to jail? ? ? ? ? ?!!!!!!!!!!!!). So sad, so very sad . . .

Report This Mar 30, 2014
  • Sahallee rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Remarkable.....This addition to the trilogy, delivers perceptive characterizations and philosophically interconnected ideas at a dynamic pace. The best !

Report This Oct 23, 2013
  • msmigels rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

The broad canvas of this dystopian fantasy allows Atwood to show off her incredible talent for satire and wordplay, and her considerable knowledge of the natural world. She paints a joyless vision of a future where genetic-engineering is a lucrative and pervasive facet of human existence and individuals are depersonified.

Report This Jul 12, 2013
  • lsjschwab rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Definitely some of Atwood's more accessible writing (to borrow a phrase)... A witty, scary, provacative, cautionary tale of "scientific progress" gone awry. Some disturbing content. Part 1 of a trilogy. Final installment not yet released.

Report This Jul 05, 2013
  • Anus rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

Fantastic story, albeit marred by the halfwit who had to underline passages throughout the book. Don't ever do this in library books.

Report This Jan 08, 2013
  • 22950010483022 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

A terrific read.

Report This Jun 24, 2012
  • Elbereth rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Well written post apocalyptic novel that follows a path that is plausible enough to make one question present society. The characters are complex and developed, and the setting is intense.

Report This Apr 23, 2012
  • iRead26 rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Took me a while to get through the book, but I'm glad I finished it. Would love to hear Atwood talk about this book and explain some of the unanswered questions! I'm a huge Atwood fan but this book wasn't one of my favorites. The Edible Woman is still at the top for me!

Report This Apr 20, 2012
  • sixtyfive rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

I picked up this book on a whim having never read Atwood before. It is a well written book and is surprisingly witty. The futuristic theme is thought provoking but a little strange.

Report This Feb 09, 2012
  • LareshaE rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

one of my all time favorite books.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

Report This Jul 26, 2011
  • kochw rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

kochw thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

Report This Jan 05, 2013
  • ChocolateChips rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Sexual Content: Some weird porn and snuff is described semi-explicitly.

Report This Jan 05, 2013
  • ChocolateChips rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Coarse Language: Definitely some shits, hells, damns.

Report This Aug 29, 2008
  • Michelle rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Sexual Content: This title contains Sexual Content.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at CLEVNET

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.